Gray Fox, City Fox

A few weeks ago, my brother told me that he’d been hearing a strange animal making a sound from the trail behind his house. He described the sound as half way between a coyote and a cat sound. Our friend Joe said that is was the sound of a gray fox.

A few days after Rob told me about hearing the gray fox that lived behind his house, I was walking Lola Dioji along a street near my home. It was about 7:30 AM when the calls of a couple crows caught my attention. They were harassing something and that thing turned out to be a gray fox that crossed the street 50 yards in front of me. I watched as the crows continued to caw and the fox disappeared between fences surrounding a drainage easement where it could spend its day undisturbed as the drainage ditch is seldom accessed by people. How crows love to harass predators.

Gray foxes are very attractive creatures with gray and red pelts. I seen quite a few over the years, but they are typically nocturnal.

 A few years ago, we set up a trail camera at the site of a gut pile from a blacktail buck we’d shot. A few hours after dark, we retrieved the camera and gray foxes had already visited the site.

gray fox at gut pile cropped

This past tuesday I was on my way to Mayberry to attend our airial spraying and help fix a leaking berm. As I drove down a street near where I’d seen the gray fox a week earlier, I spotted a dead animal on the side of the road. Could it be the gray fox? I stopped my truck and backed up. Sure enough, a gray fox lay along the white line of the bicylce path on the side of the road. The City Fox had suffered a premature death. Too bad, I’d like to have seen him again under better circumstances.

 fox 002 cropped and resized

2 thoughts on “Gray Fox, City Fox

  1. Hello
    Iam looking to buy a landowner tag in Nevada for area 16
    Can anyone help or tell me where to go .
    Thank you
    Bill

  2. I have been studying the behavioral characteristics of the gray fox for the past four years. I’m known as The Fox Guy. Given my experience, since this fox was killed, another one will take over its territory. It will probably be a first year fox, in search of its first mate and its own territory. So, don’t give up seeing another gray fox in that same area. If I had more information, I could go into more depth.

Leave a Reply

