River Otters of Mayberry Slough

Opening day of duck season was a success, five of us shot 30 mallards, but it was an effort. The cover was thick and it made retrieving birds a workout.

Lola did great and made several great retrieves from the dead cattails. I was very happy with her performance and by the end of the day she was pretty pooped.

I decided not to hunt Sunday and left the club about 7:00 AM. While driving along the levy, I watched for river otters. I’ve been attempting to video them for some time.

Sure enough I came upon a group of six otters and managed to get a video of them. It’s not wonderful, but it’s the best I’ve been able to get so far. So here they are:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T6XJBiFTLnY

Once, while fishing for stripers in Mayberry, I hooked a fish and couldn’t get it in. Eventually a otter’s head popped up in front of me with the foot-long striper in his mouth. I’m not sure who was more surprised, but he let go when he saw me.

Leave a Reply

