Broke Out the GPS Today

An interesting thing I’ve learned over the past couple deer hunting seasons is that my GPS can help me determine the best times to hunt and fish.

Yes there is a program on my Garmin eTrex Legend called “Hunt and Fish.” After establishing the location, you enter the date and the GPS unit tells you if it’s a good day or not. The date can be rated poor, average, good or excellent.

I’ve noticed that good and excellent days definitely seem to have more activity.

For July the 24th and 25th are rated good and the 26th is rated excellent. I guess I’ll be out there on those days.

The GPS unit also states which hours of the day are best. Might as well give it a shot. I’m becoming a believer.

Leave a Reply

