Summer Sausage for Christmas

Made summer sausage the week before Christmas and gave almost all of it away. In fact I just opened the final hunk we have left for New Years.

The sausage kit recipe is excellent and it cuts down on the prep work. I mixed ten pounds of ground venison (from Jeff’s BC whitetail) with four pounds of ground pork shoulder. Then I added the seasoning and cure per the instructions which are very explicit and easy to read.

After stuffing the sausage into the casings, I let them sit in the refrigerator over night and smoked them the next day. I heated them for one hour in the oven, then smoked them for two hours and finished them off by putting them back in the oven for an hour until they reached 156 degrees F.

Here are a few photos of the process.

I purchased the kit at Bass Pro. It save a lot of time by eliminating the need to shop for seasonings and mixing them.

Smoking the sausage adds a lot of flavor. I prefer the apple wood. The water smoker is heated by bricketts.

It takes too long to heat the meat to 156 degrees in the smoker, so I finished the sauage off with the oven set at 200 degrees.

Wrapping the sausage using the foodsaver keeps it moist. If you leave it unwrapped it begins to dry out, something you won't like.

I served the sausage Christmas Eve and it was well received. I felt good about giving it away.

Leave a Reply

