Preparing for Muzzleloader Hunting

The Remington 700 muzzleloader is functioning well, but I’m not very proficient at loading it yet.

The percussion caps are so small that I fumble around with them. I can’t yet imagine what it would be like trying to reload with a desirable buck standing at 50 yards. I think the key will be to hit him on the first shot.

I’ve shot with pellets and power, but the power produces a quicker ignition, almost like a cartridge rifle, while the pellets have a delayed response.

Right now I’m shooting three-inch groups from a platform (my tri-pod) at 75 yards. I’m progressing, but this exercise requires significant effort.

I’ve got a long way to go. I’ll hunt with the muzzleloader during the A-Zone season as well. Haven’t had time to do any archery hunting yet.

2 thoughts on “Preparing for Muzzleloader Hunting

    • That’s a very good comment. But, no wads here as I’ll be using a sabot (which doesn’t require a wad). However, Iam aware that fires can start very easily in this area. R Rich Fletcher Real Estate Broker 1568 Catalina Ct. Livermore, CA 94550 (925)373-6601 fax(925)605-3527 c(925)989-4372

      Rich’s blog: http://www.hunterlandowner.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

