Tracks in a Dusty Road

While on a fishing expedition to McCoy Flat Reservoir near Susanville, I found this set of tracks in a dusty road.

I pondered these tracks for a while and then took a photo so I could do some research. If you figure them out on your own, I’m impressed. After some research, I came up with the answer.

Here’s a closer view:

You can tell the critter has long claws.

Answer: Pocket gopher. For more info click on the link below.

http://www.enature.com/fieldguides/detail.asp?shapeID=1037&curGroupID=5&lgfromWhere=&viewType=tracks&curPageNum=8

Leave a Reply

