Grasslands Visit an Eye Opener

Per my plan, which was to revisit a Volta duck hunt of 25 years ago, I rose early and headed south. I was antsy and couldn’t stay in bed until the 5 AM alarm went off. It was about 4 AM when I gave up on sleep climbed out of bed.

This was something I’d been thinking about for a while. Hard to believe 25 years had passed. I haven’t been hunting the refuges much for a while. How would this trip be different? For the most part the marshes are constant – or at least that has been my impression.

My eyes were opened on this trip. The grasslands had expanded tremendously over the past 25 years and public hunting abounds. It’s late and I’m tired. I’ll expound on this soon.

Arriving at shooting time, I elected to park at lot 3A. I was the only car parked there. Lola enjoyed chasing coots.

Leave a Reply

