The Towhee and the Woodpecker

It was one of those mornings when the birds were out. Maybe the moon phase or changing weather. A towhee caught my eye, so I pulled out my small pentax camera and managed to get off a couple shots.

This is the rufus-sided towhee. We also have the brown towhee and, inland, the green-tailed towhee.

When he disappeared behind a car, I shifted my attention to a woodpecker in the tree above the towhee.

I snapped a couple quick photos before he disappeared. When I got home, I found that the towhee was in the photo with the woodpecker. I had taken his photo without knowing it. Here is the woodpecker.

The woodpecker is a female Nuttal's woodpecker.

Leave a Reply

