Palmated Mule Deer Buck

This palmated buck hid in a creek bottom, but a doe distracted him for a photo. The sun made photographing difficult, but the palmation is clear.

In my recent travels, I spotted this palmated buck following a doe in a creek bottom. Although it was mid day, a couple of my photos showed the palmation, a very rare occurence in mule deer – first one I’ve ever spotted.

Here he is from the opposite side. I tried, but failed in attempts to get a better photo of him.

Leave a Reply

