How Many Mustangs can a Gray Wolf Eat?

Non-native wild horses are overly abundant in many western states, including California. Their presence has a negative impact upon the habitat of many native species including mule deer.

Another species is now present in California that may also have a negative impact upon mule deer. Concerned about predation by gray wolves, I asked a biologist friend if he thought gray wolves would impact the California mule deer population.

His response may have been only half serious, but he said the wild horses might have more to worry about than the deer.

In an effort to do some research and establish parameters for continuation of this discussion, I conducted an internet search for more information. I searched for “Wolves and wild horses” on Goggle Search.

This was my answer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2b2ZMwxMsXM

Not satisfied with this answer, I modified my search and came up with information provided in the following link. I believe the second link is  more accurate and realistic: http://washparkprophet.blogspot.com/2007/09/lions-wolves-and-horses.html

For each horse that feeds a wolf, we’ll probably gain about ten mule deer. Wolves or horses? It’s a close call.

Leave a comment