Letter Regarding Wolf Management

Photographed this wolf track in the Bob Marshall Wilderness, November 2013.

Photographed this wolf track in the Bob Marshall Wilderness, November 2013.

Director Virgil Moore

Idaho Department of Fish and Game

Email:virgil.moore@idfg.idaho.gov

Commissioner Will Naillon

Idaho Department of Fish and Game

Email:willnaillon@gmail.com

Chairman Bob Barowsky

Idaho Department of Fish and Game

Email:bbarowsky@fmtc.com

Governor Butch Otter

Email:governor@gov.idaho.gov

Chief Tom Tidwell

U.S. Forest Service

Email:ttidwell@fs.fed.us

Supervisor Keith Lannom

U.S. Forest Service

Email:klannom@fs.fed.us

To Those who manage our forests:

Elk meat is a fine tasting and healthy food. I prefer to season it and grill it on my Weber barbecue. It is best when removed while the meat is as rare as possible. Over cooking drys out the meat and reduces its quality. Weber makes a very good peppercorn marinade that I enjoy, but plain salt, pepper, oil and vinegar is sufficient.

Although I don’t always have a chance to partake, this winter I’ve had the opportunity to enjoy elk steaks and burger from a young bull I killed in Montana’s Bob Marshall Wilderness.

What I couldn’t transport on the airplane, I gave to a good friend, who resides near Riggins Idaho, where elk numbers have sadly diminished. Some traditional hunting areas near his home, where he hunted successfully for years, are nearly void of elk. Wolves are the reason.

Wolves cannot manage themselves. Left unchecked they will prevent hunters from enjoying the bounty of the hunt.

While hunting the “Bob” I heard a wolf howl in the middle of the night and found their tracks on a day when we saw no elk.  I’m glad there are wolves in the wilderness, but they must be kept at a population level where they can coexist with and share elk with human hunters. There is only one way to accomplish that management objective.

I imagine it is very difficult to find a wolf and get a good shot. I look forward to a day when I may have the opportunity to hunt for wolves and learn more about their behavior. I know that it is unlikely that I will ever kill a wolf, but simply coming close would be a thrill I’d always remember.

One more item on my bucket list.

Thanks for doing the hard work of managing our forests and wildlife.

RF

Young bull elk like this provide quality meat second to none

Young bull elk like this provide quality meat second to none

Leave a Reply

