Looking Back on 2013 Hunting

After a few missed opportunities, son-in-law Brett killed his first buck on Sunday morning.

The highlight of the season was helping my son-in-law Brett bag his first blacktail deer.

My personal best was arrowing the nice blacktail buck.

My personal best was arrowing the nice blacktail buck.

The Colorado antelope buck I killed in October was a personal first.

The Colorado antelope buck I killed in October was a personal first.

The most physically challenging hunt was a horseback hunt in the Bob Marshall Wilderness.

The most physically challenging hunt was a horseback hunt in the Bob Marshall Wilderness.

Lola had a good year retrieving and in November I had my best day of mallard hunting since 2011.

Lola had a good year retrieving and in December we had our best day of duck hunting since 2011.

Another first was back-to-back double limits of white-front geese in January. (Fred with geese)

Another first was back-to-back double limits of white-front geese in January. (Fred with geese)

Rick Leas killed the best trophy I saw this year by shooting this 350 bull in the Bob Marshall Wilderness.

Rick Leas killed the best trophy I saw this year by bringing homeĀ  this 350 bull in from the Bob Marshall Wilderness.

The most unique trip of the year was traveling to VA and subsequently hunting whitetails with my "other" son-in-law Tim Rice, shown here with my step daughter Shannon while on a side-trip to Williamsburg.

The most unique trip of the year was traveling to VA and subsequently hunting whitetails with my “other” son-in-law Tim Rice, shown here with my step daughter Shannon while on a side-trip to Williamsburg.

Leave a Reply

