The Hairy Woodpecker

While hiking in springtime, I come across the hairy woodpecker often. It is easy to find them in the spring as they are often making their call, which is not really a call, it’s the sound of the bird beating its beak against hard wood.

Yesterday I came upon a hairy woodpecker doing his thing and I had my iPad mini with me. So I may a brief video to share. Here is the link. If you go to full screen mode, you’ll see him, but hearing him is the important part. One you’ve heard him, you’ll hear him again.

When I get a chance, I’ll add a close-up photo, but I can’t find one in my files. Funny how I see some birds a million times, but don’t take a photo.

Leave a Reply

