Call of the Phainopepla

The phainopepla is a impressive black bird of the chaparral and it can be found in the East Bay Area during springtime.

While walking a trail that passes at the base of Cresta Blanca, I observed a bird that, at first glance, I thought was a black phoebe. However, the bird’s call made me think again.

The crest, named Cresta Banca (white crest) can be seen from Arroyo Road as one passes the Veteran's Hospital.

The crest, named Cresta Banca (white crest) can be seen from Arroyo Road as one passes the Veteran’s Hospital.

I waited and watched until the bird perched in an oak only 30 feet from where I stood. I realized that it was a phainopepla, a migrant that I have seen only a few times before, always in springtime.

The bird was calling continuously and soon I realized that there was actually a pair of them. I decided to make a video/audio recording with my Iphone.

Here’s the recording.

http://youtu.be/06QM2lt97QI

 

 

Leave a Reply

