Ripe Flower

While hiking this past week, I came upon a group of crows that were feeding in the oak woodland about 100 yards from me. As I watched them I decided to see if I could tell what they were eating. As I watched, one of the crows hopped to a while flower and began to pull on it. Then he ate one of the petals of the flower. The crows began to target the white flowers which were in the opening. As I neared, it was as though the crows knew I was going to end their feeding and they began to attack the flowers in a frenzy. I wondered what the flower was. When I arrived at the site, the crows circled around cawing.

Crows feeding in oak woodland.

Crows feeding in oak woodland.

The white flower upon which the crows were feeding was the Mariposa lily, a common wildflower that is found in oak grassland and oak woodland. Here is a photo of one of the flowers not eaten by the crows.

Although the Mariposa Lilies I observed from a distance appeared to be white, they were sun bleached and had previously been a more purple color.

Although the Mariposa Lilies I observed from a distance appeared to be white, they were sun bleached and had previously been more purple in color.

Leaves, and apparently flower petals too, can increase in food value as they ripen. As fruit increases in sugar as it ages, so do leaves and flower petals. In the fall, deer will feed upon fallen leaves that were not appealing before they fell to the ground. Here is a photo of a yellow Mariposa lily, taken when it was fresh. DSC_0234

Leave a Reply

