Birthday Week

My birthday is always in November. Nothing I can do about that. It creates some controversy as people can’t figure out why I always want to go hunting on my birthday, which is November 21st.

November 21st is usually the end of the first week of pheasant hunting. It’s the week the the goldeneye return to Mayberry Slough. It’s the first week of fall turkey season and the week that we generally start flooding up on Webb Track.

This year is was also the week that my venison arrived from Montana along with the horns of the mule deer buck bagged on November 5th.

IMG_1473

The week before my birthday is probably the best week to hunt whitetails in Idaho.

This year it was a good week for working on our new bathroom at the ranch. Only a few things left to do before it will be functioning.

Photographed this tule elk bull on the way to the ranch last week.

Photographed this tule elk bull on the way to the ranch last week.

My birthday is almost always on the week before Thanksgiving, which creates a little bit of a social conflict. But, not much.

Last Wednesday, I managed to hunt ducks and also pheasants – something that used to be common, but now is a special treat.

Webb tract rooster bagged on birthday week 2015.

Webb tract rooster bagged on birthday week 2015.

The week before my birthday can be a great time to catch a striper in the Delta, especially if the duck hunting is slow.

Brother Rob caught this nice striper this year on the week before my birthday.

This year, brother Rob caught this nice striper during the week before my birthday.

On birthday week this year, my nearly two year old grandson, Fergus Kelly, accepted the warthog tooth I handed him and then carried it with him the rest of the night. Now it’s at his house.

The large tooth of this wathog is now in my grandson's possession.

The large tooth of this warthog is now in my grandson’s possession.

Fergus with warthog tooth

On my birthday this year, I slept in and drove to the Kerry Club for an afternoon shoot. Turns out I may have been better off if I’d hung with the guys in camp and had a bloody Mary.

However the sun and fresh air did my spirit good and Lola had a good workout while crashing tules on way to and from the blind.

About 1:30 PM a few pintails arrived high overhead, but they never approached.

Now my freezer is full of deer meat along with the cape of my muley which I’ll have mounted this winter.

I’m looking forward to seeing the tall and symmetrical buck on my wall along side of the whitetail I killed during the week before my birthday a few years ago.

I hope the Montana mule deer is as attractive as this Idaho whitetail, which is a favorite of mine.

I hope the Montana mule deer is as attractive as this Idaho whitetail, which is a favorite of mine.

All things considered, November 21st is a good day for a birthday.

2 thoughts on “Birthday Week

  1. People always wonder why my hubby hunts on our anniversary , dec. 22nd! We agreed to this when we married 52 yrs ago!if it’s a hunt day you just don’t. Miss!☺️

  2. Pingback: Birthday Week | Rifleman III Journal

Leave a Reply

