Rutty Buck

The downside of hunting for big bucks during the rut is that the meat may be less desirable than deer killed before or after the rut. The buck I killed in Montana last November was rutting. And, it’s meat has an after taste that is bearable, but not good.

The buck was processed by a butcher into roasts and hamburger. I like summer sausage and the method I use is to purchase a kit made by High Mountain Seasonings. The kit calls for 80% deer meat and 20% pork. The meat is ground and mixed together. Unfortunately I had 10% beef fat added to my deer meat during the hamburger making process.

I decided to take a risk and use the hamburger straight from the package, using the ingredients and recipe I’ve use previously with success.

The resulting sausage was more like a boloney than summer sausage and definitely not as tasty, but it will work for sandwiches, so the effort was not wasted. Next I’ll be trying roasts by making summer sausage the traditional way. I believe it will be fine, but we’ll find out soon.

 

Leave a Reply

