Eagle and Ravens

On the way home from the ranch last week, I spotted two ravens and something else in the grass about 150 yards off the road. I figured it might be something interesting so I began taking photos before I’d identified the target.

Turns out it was a golden eagle guarding a ground squirrel that it had just killed.

eagle and ravens on squirrel carcass DSC_0207 cropped

Eventually the eagle spotted my truck and got nervous. He took off with the squirrel in his grasp, but it wasn’t long before he dropped it.

I snapped a  couple shots as he flew by.

eagle in flight DSC_0211[1] cropped

I felt bad that he left his meal behind, but I’m sure the ravens made short work of it.

 

Leave a Reply

