Eagle Fight

On my way home from the ranch today, I came upon two eagles that I believe I’ve seen before. The first time I saw them was about a month ago and they seemed to be fighting over food.

Today I came around a corner in nearly the same spot and the two eagles were on the ground next to each other about 150 yards off the road. One of them, a bald eagle, took off, but the second eagle stayed on the ground.

Sensing that I may get a photo opportunity, I rolled down my window and grabbed my camera, which was ready for action. And, it was a good thing.

The bald eagle flew over my truck and I was happy to get a couple photos of the bird in flight.

DSC_0040[1] bald eagle soaring

The golden eagle remained on the ground for a moment and then took off with the bald eagle in pursuit.

DSC_0040[1] golden eagle

It appeared that the golden eagle was carrying prey.

DSC_0047[1] golden eagle fleeing with prey

A couple ravens joined in the melee.

DSC_0058[1] eagles and ravens

Then the bald eagle went on the attach.

DSC_0059[1] eagles engage

DSC_0060[1] eagles fight over squirrel

They fought over a ground squirrel until  it fell towards the ground.

DSC_0061[1] ground squirrel falls

The fight continued as the birds plummeted downward.

DSC_0062[1] eagles continue to fall

Eventually the golden eagle recovered it’s food. But it may have been injured.

DSC_0063[1] golden recovers squirrel

The bald eagle was left to watch.

DSC_0069[1] bald eagle watches

Not sure what happened next as I had to get home for my own dinner.

 

 

Leave a Reply

