When is a Snake Gorgeous?

Gorgeous? A snake. Yes a snake can be gorgeous. It was shown to me a couple days ago when I came across a gopher snake in the road.

DSC_0103[1] gopher snake

This has been a good year for gopher snakes. Last year was a rattle snake year and I saw about ten rattle snakes for every gopher snake. But this year I’ve see only one rattle snake in the road, but many gopher snakes.

The latest snake was spectacular. The photos I have don’t show his true beauty. He was at least five feet long and the sunlight shimmered on his beautiful hide. He was spectacular. Here are a few of the photos of this marvelous critter.

 

Click on the photo to enlarge. I hope you can appreciate what a spectacular creature this is. When I touched him on the tail, he turned and departed into the tall grass. Unlike rattle snakes, he was a docile creature.

One thought on “When is a Snake Gorgeous?

Leave a Reply

